Combatting Distracted Driving Citations
Distracted driving has become an epidemic in Texas and in the United States. Perhaps one of the most common distractions for today’s drivers is the cell phone. After attempting to pass a ban on texting while driving at least four times in Texas, it is now officially a law.
At Paul Kubosh, Attorney at Law, we represent drivers and commercial drivers with moving violations and traffic tickets throughout Texas. Our lawyers possess the extensive knowledge of state driving laws to guide you through the complex legal process in order to obtain the best results possible for your traffic ticket case.
Distracted Driving Laws And Penalties in Texas
Starting on Friday, September 1st, texting while driving within the state of Texas is punishable by a fine of between $25 and $99 for first-time offenders. For repeat offenders, the fine ranges from $100 to $200.
If an accident caused by texting and driving results in serious bodily injury or death of another person, they can be charged with a Class A misdemeanor. This type of misdemeanor is punishable by a maximum jail sentence of one year and a fine of up to $4,000.
It is imperative to understand that this law only addresses “reading, writing, or sending electronic messages” via a “wireless communication device.” It is still considered legal for drivers to use their phone for GPS navigation and music apps.
Looking for help with a traffic ticket?
Our traffic-ticket web app makes it easy!
Get representation in less than 90 seconds!Get Help Now [+]
Request Your Free Consultation
If your distracted driving charge involves an accident, injury or death, we can build an effective defense strategy that may be able to help you get your entire case dismissed or your charges reduced. Do not risk facing these penalties without experienced criminal defense representation.
Call 713-491-6977 or contact us online to discuss your legal options with our legal team today.